President's Message - February 2019

Anthony Luce

Dear Dallas Branch Members:

I can’t believe that it is already February.  Thank you to all those who came out to support the wonderful kids at the North Texas Regional Future Cities Competition and the Dallas ISD Stem Expo over the last couple weeks.  It is amazing what these children can think up, plan, and accomplish at their ages.  If you have never volunteered at one of these events, I highly encourage it.  It is a very rewarding experience to see the effort and time spent on the projects that are completed and judged as part of the events. 

We only have a few more days until the Dallas Brach hosts the Multi-Regional Leadership Conference on February 7-9, 2019.  Please visit our website at for more information.  We are looking for sponsors and for firms that are interested in hosting a booth a career fair with the opportunity to interact with some student leaders from their respective student sections.  Please contact Farwa Sultan at for information on sponsorship and career fair booths.  I personally want to thank the committee that has been hard working on planning the large-scale event.  Committee members include Jonathan Brower, Julie Jones, Farwa Sultan, Colton Gill, Taylor Reece, and Joe Waugh.  I also want to thank all of those sponsor companies who have donated resources and funds to the branch for this event to take place. 

During the week of February 17 – 23, the nation will celebrate the engineering profession during national Engineers Week, or E-week, as we all have likely heard it referred as.  The Dallas Branch of ASCE will be awarding our annual recipients of Engineer of the Year (EOY) and Young Engineer of the Year (YEOY).  The winners of these award we nominated by their peers and were judged by a panel of past presidents, past ASCE regional governors, and current board members to determine deserving applicants.  Congratulations to the 2019 EOY Nancy Cline, PE and 2019 YEOY, and yours truly, Anthony Luce.  I know that Nancy and I have both worked hard professionally, within ASCE, and within out communities to gain the experience and qualities worthy of these awards.  We are truly honored to be your 2019 award winners. 

Please see the TSPE website ( if you would like any information about their awards luncheon, either attending or sponsoring the event.  This event will take place February 20th at the Plano Center and will allow multiple engineering societies to award their respective winners of EOY and YEOY. 

This month, our ASCE Dallas Branch meeting will be on Monday, February 11th.  We will be learning about “Automated Vehicles in Texas” by our presenter Christopher Poe from the Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI).   Our AM Technical Session is being conducted by the Geo-Institute and is entitled “Pavement Design with Geogrids” and will be presented by Blake Wilson.  The afternoon Technical Session will be conducted by Structural Engineering Institute with a title of “Abram Street Pedestrian Bridge” with David Narvaez and Peter Kau as the presenters. 

Please join us to listen to the wonderful presenters and their interesting topics.  We look forward to seeing you on the 11th.  Until next month…


Yours in service,

Anthony Luce

President ASCE Dallas Branch