President's Message - October 2020

Julie Jones

Dear Dallas Branch Members:

I can’t believe it is already the end of my term as president.  While this term was not what I planned with having a pandemic, I am proud of our branch and all that we have accomplished.  We have adjusted to switching to a virtual format, and were one of the first to do so.  With this we were able to help advise other branches within Texas when they were looking to go virtual.  My appreciation goes to the board and committee chairs for helping in all these endeavors this year.  To the members thank you for being flexible, and the past presidents for the advice that you gave me. 

This month we will have ASCE President Elect Jean-Louis Briaud, Ph.D., P.E., D.GE, Dist.M.ASCE join us for the installation of our new officers.  Your 2020-2021 President is Jonathan Brower, President-Elect is Edward Penton, Vice President is Nancy Cline, Secretary is Reece Taylor, Treasurer is Patrick Williams, Texas Section Director is Phillip Alcorn, Technical Director is Surya Bhandari, Branch Director is Nicholas Phillips, and I will continue on as Past President. 

This month at our meeting Aurobindo Majumdar, PE, PTOE, City of Dallas Assistant Director Transportation Operations, City Traffic Engineer will be giving a presentation entitled “Dallas Love Field Alternate Entry Update”. 

It was an honor and privilege to serve as your Dallas Branch President this year. I know Jonathan will do an excellent job leading the Branch next year.

Yours in service,

Julie A. Jones, PE, CFM
ASCE Dallas Branch, 2019-2020