Dallas Branch 2020 Engineer of the Year & Young Engineer of the Year Awards

The Dallas Branch has ASCE has selected our Engineer of the Year and Young Engineer of the Year for 2020.  They will be recognized during E-Week, at the 2020 TSPE Engineers Week Annual Awards Luncheon on February 18, 2020.

ASCE Dallas Branch Engineer of the Year (2020)

Edward M Penton, PE


Ed is a transportation engineer with over 18 years of experience in roadway related design including seventeen continuous years at Jacobs. He has worked on several notable transportation projects in the metroplex including the Klyde Warren Deck Park, IH30 / SH360 Interchange, LBJ Express, and the IH820 / SH121 Interchange. Ed has been active in ASCE since joining in 2002 as a student member and serving as the Newsletter Editor for the Student Chapter and participating on the Concrete Canoe build team. He has previously served in many roles in the Dallas Branch including Technical Director, Communications Director, and Webmaster. He is currently the Vice President of the Dallas Branch.

ASCE Dallas Branch Young Engineer of the Year (2020)

Phillip A Alcorn, PE


Phillip has over 12 years of schematic and PS&E experience in the civil design of roadways, retaining walls, rail, traffic, and drainage. He has worked on projects for TxDOT, Denton County, City of The Colony, the California High-Speed Rail Authority (CHSRA), the City of Arlington, and the City of Dallas to name a few. Phillip is a roadway project engineer in the Transportation Group at Jacobs and is currently on the design team for the Klyde Warren Park expansion project in Downtown Dallas. Phillip has been active with the Dallas Branch of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) since 2009. Over the years, he’s served in various roles such as Newsletter Editor and Webmaster. Phillip is currently the Texas Section Director and Communications Chair of the Dallas Branch.